About Us

The Music Special Interest Council is a part of the NLTA Professional Development Division. It serves as a professional learning community whose main objectives are:

  1. To act as an agency to promote the continuous professional development of all members.
  2. To serve as a clearing house for new ideas, trends, and developments in the teaching of music.
  3. To furnish recommendations and advice to the provincial executive of the NLTA and to other committees of the NTLA on matters affecting the supervising and teaching of music in schools.

Provincial Executive

President Kathy Conway Ward St. Matthews Elementary - St. John's catherineconway-ward@nlesd.ca
President Ashley Beresford Holy Cross Junior High - St. John's ashleyberesford@nlesd.ca
Secretary Bethany Saunders Newtown Elementary School - Mount Pearl bethanysaunders@nlesd.ca
Communications Officer Michelle Collins St. Edward's School - Kelligrews michellecollins@nlesd.ca

Members-At-Large

Avalon East Chris Miller Fatima Academy - St. Bride's chrismiller@nlesd.ca
Avalon West Deanne Delahunty Amalgamated Academy - Bay Roberts deannedelahunty@nlesd.ca
Central Adam Baxter Lewisporte Collegiate - Lewisporte
Lewisporte Intermediate - Lewisporte
adambaxter@nlesd.ca
Western Jennifer Stratton-Renouf Elwood Elementary - Deer Lake jenniferstratton-renouf@nlesd.ca
Northern Peninsula Brittany Pike Tricentia Academy - Arnold's Cove brittanypike@nlesd.ca
Labrador Christopher Ryan christopherryan@nalcorenergy.com
Associate/Independent Vincenza Etchegary St. Bonaventure's College - St. John's vetchegary@gmail.com
Student Vacant

Eastern Executive

President Melissa Cooper Frank Roberts Junior High - CBS melissacooper@nlesd.ca
Vice-President Alanna Fitzpatrick St. Kevins Junior High - Goulds alannafitzpatrick@nlesd.ca
Treasurer Deirdre Costello deirdrecostello@nlesd.ca
Secretary Andrea Lane-Gardner Elizabeth Park Elementary - Paradise andrealane-gardner@nlesd.ca