About Us

The Music Special Interest Council is a part of the NLTA Professional Development Division. It serves as a professional learning community whose main objectives are:

  1. To act as an agency to promote the continuous professional development of all members.
  2. To serve as a clearing house for new ideas, trends, and developments in the teaching of music.
  3. To furnish recommendations and advice to the provincial executive of the NLTA and to other committees of the NTLA on matters affecting the supervising and teaching of music in schools.

Provincial Executive

President Ashley Beresford Bishop Feild Elementary - St. John's ashleyberesford@nlesd.ca
Vice-President Michelle Collins Admiral's Acadmey - CBS michellecollins@nlesd.ca
Treasurer Sarah Caines Goulds Elementary - Goulds sarahcaines@nlesd.ca
Communications Officer A. Rebecca McDonald rebeccamcdonald1@nlesd.ca

Members-At-Large

Avalon East Vacant
Avalon West Tiffany Smith Persalvic Elementary - Victoria
tiffanysmith@nlesd.ca
Central Amanda Hollett amandahollett@nlesd.ca
Western Jennifer Stratton-Renouf J. J. Curling Elementary - Corner Brook
jenniferstratton-renouf@nlesd.ca
Northern Peninsula Cheryl Knight Memorial University - St. John's
cherylknight123@gmail.com
Labrador Christopher Ryan christopherryan@nalcorenergy.com
Associate/Independent Vincenza Etchegary St. Bonaventure's College - St. John's
vetchegary@gmail.com
Student Kristian Butt Holy Heart of Mary - St. John's
kristian596@gmail.com
Affiliate Chris Davis, Long & McQuade cdavis@long-mcquade.com

Eastern Executive