About Us

The Music Special Interest Council is a part of the NLTA Professional Development Division. It serves as a professional learning community whose main objectives are:

  1. To act as an agency to promote the continuous professional development of all members.
  2. To serve as a clearing house for new ideas, trends, and developments in the teaching of music.
  3. To furnish recommendations and advice to the provincial executive of the NLTA and to other committees of the NTLA on matters affecting the supervising and teaching of music in schools.

Provincial Executive

President Ashley Beresford Bishop Feild Elementary - St. John's ashleyberesford@nlesd.ca
Vice-President Michelle Collins Admiral's Acadmey - CBS michellecollins@nlesd.ca
Treasurer Sarah Caines Newtown Elementary School - Mount Pearl sarahcaines@nlesd.ca
Secretary Catherine Hoven Fogo Island Central Academy - Fogo Island catherinetaylor@nlesd.ca
Communications Officer A. Rebecca McDonald Holy Family Elementary (Chapel Arm) - Chapel Arm rebeccamcdonald1@nlesd.ca


Avalon East Leigh Ann Ryan Beachy Cove Elementary - Portugal Cove-St. Philip's leighannryan@nlesd.ca
Avalon West Tiffany Smith Persalvic Elementary - Victoria tiffanysmith@nlesd.ca
Central Amanda Hollett Pearce Junior High School - Burin Bay Arm amandahollett@nlesd.ca
Western Jennifer Stratton-Renouf Elwood Elementary - Deer Lake jenniferstratton-renouf@nlesd.ca
Northern Peninsula Cheryl Knight Memorial University - St. John's cherylknight123@gmail.com
Labrador Christopher Ryan Eric G. Lambert - Churchill Falls christopherryan@nalcorenergy.com
Associate/Independent Vincenza Etchegary St. Bonaventure's College - St. John's vetchegary@gmail.com
Student Kristian Butt Holy Heart of Mary - St. John's kristian596@gmail.com
Affiliate Vacant

Eastern Executive